Carat Weight

The GIA Color Scale extends from D (colorless) to Z (light yellow or brown).

Although many people think of gem quality diamonds as colorless, truly colorless diamonds are actually very rare. Most diamonds used in jewelry are nearly colorless with tints of yellow or brown. Color grades are determined by comparing each...

The GIA Clarity Scale includes eleven clarity grades ranging from Flawless to I .

Because diamonds form under tremendous heat aand pressure, it is extremely rare to find a diamond that lacks any internal and external characteristics. These characteristics are a by-product of its formation and help gemologists separate...

The GIA Cut Scale ranges from Excellent to Poor.

GIA provides a cut quality grade for standard round brilliant diamonds that fall in the GIA D-to-Z color range.

A polished diamond’s beauty lies in its complex relationship with light: how light strikes the surface, how much enters the diamond, and how...

One carat equals 200 milligrams in weight.

For diamonds under one carat, each carat is divided into 100 points - similar to pennies in a dollar.

0.75 ct. = 75 points
1/2 ct. = 50 points

scale diagram >>
scale diagram >>
scale diagram >>
scale diagram >>